Science Rally 2016 (Final Stage)

Home - Campus Life - News & Activities - Science Rally 2016 (Final Stage)

For the Third year in a row, MUBS organized its yearly Science Rally competition.

The Science Rally is organized yearly by the School of Health Sciences at MUBS, in collaboration with researchers and faculty from the American University of Beirut (AUB), Stanford University (USA), and St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (USA). The competition was open to high school students in grades 11 and 12. Its aim is to motivate high school students to understand, process, and explain the scientific phenomena that surround them. It focuses on the “Why” in scientific phenomena from everyday life.

This year, the event was held under the patronage of Prof. Ahmad Jammal, General Director of Higher Education and in the presence of the Chairman of the Board of Trustees at MUBS, Dr. Hatem Alamy, members of the Board, faculty and staff, in addition to a number of teachers and principals from participating schools who provided great support for the teams, and were on the edge of their seats as the competition advanced. Moreover, as part of the event, MUBS honored Professor Naim Ouaini, President of the Lebanese Association for the Advancement of Science (LAAS) and Deputy President for Public Administration at the Holy Spirit University of Kaslik.

This year’s competition was divided into two rounds. The first round took place at the Unesco Palace, Beirut, while the second round took place at MUBS Damour Campus.

Eighteen schools from different regions in Lebanon competed  in front of a prestigious scientific jury consisting of: Dr. Jomana Aridi, Assistant Professor of Chemistry at the Lebanese American University, Dr. Mariam Hammadi, Assistant Professor of Biology at the Modern University for Business and Science, Dr. Rachid Ammar, Assistant Professor of Chemistry at the University of Balamand and Notre Dame University, in addition to Dr. Rashid Hamdan, Assistant Professor of Physics at the Lebanese American University and the Lebanese University.

Stage 1: Six finalists out of 18 were qualified to Stage 2 which took place on 11th of February at the Unesco Palace in Beirut. The qualified schools were as follows:

  • Le Lycée National (Bekaata)
  • Shouf National College
  • Amjad
  • Hariri High School II
  • Maroun Abboud High School (Aley)
  • Baakline official Secondary School (BOSS)

Stage 2: The six finalists competed for the victory on the 26th of February at MUBS Damour Campus.

The winning schools were as follows:

1st Place: Baakline Official Secondary School

2nd Place: Amjad

3rd Place: Shouf National College

4th Place: Le Lycee National (Bekaata)

Prizes included free tickets to Turkey to all members of the winning team, in addition to monetary prizes and scholarships at MUBS. 


Congrats to all participants!



Copyright © 2016 Modern University for Business & Science Contact us FAQ Jobs Copyright